The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beer Kit Question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2010, 10:39 PM   #1
Beerdude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beer Kit Question

Greetings,
Its my first time brewing and I have a stock pot I got from a friend that is labeled 4, 8 and 12 on it. I assume those mean quarts, so there are about 4 more quarts from the top of the pot.

I purchased a 5 gallon brewing kit, with all ingredients.
If I do not have a 20 qt pot, should I plan to measure out from the kit the proper amount of the ingredients, or should I just buy enough for the 3 gallon pot?

The other option for me would be to buy another pot or to return the kit, and get the ingredients myself.
I have a carboy that would fit 5 gallons.

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2010, 11:16 PM   #2
Pappers_
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 869 Times on 624 Posts
Likes Given: 1921

Hi Dude. Its common for brewers using an extract kit to do "partial boils", which means they only boil 2.5 -3 gallons and then top-off with enough water to get to five gallons in their fermenter. Does that make sense? Or do you need more details?

Old 07-27-2010, 11:30 PM   #3
mrgoochio
Recipes 

New brewer here as well, what is the disadvantage to doing a partial boil vs a full 5gal boil and topping the fermenter off with water? Seems like a good way to bring the wort back to fermenting temperature. my brew kit + beer kit should be on the way soon and I was planning on doing a partial boil

Old 07-27-2010, 11:40 PM   #4
Pappers_
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

You've hit on one advantage of partial boils - the other is that most of us already have a big enough stock pot to do it in and our stoves will bring 3 gallons of water to a boil promptly, but not 5 gallons.