Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beer is hard to messup

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2011, 09:16 AM   #11
fernando
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Hey I love the feed back. And to be more specific I understand the need for sanitation, the sources of bad smells, and I did not mean to play down sanitation but the worrying that one gets as a beginner. As a beginner I remember hovering over my fermenter's airlock waiting for bubbles and smelling the gas to see if it was rancid which it was. Its a all bit nerve wreaking and have had friends who end up opening the container because they over concern them selves with things they did or may have not done. So to put it plainly once you get it in the fermenter its time to chill, short of sticking a spoon full of dirt in your brew chances are it will come out alright.

All you need in life is your feet to carry your weight your hands to make your way and your brain to guide you to the bar, but after a few beers don't expect it to show you the way back.

AND CHILL NERDS!!!

-Fernando

Last edited by fernando; 09-08-2011 at 10:18 AM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2011, 10:42 AM   #12
Clann
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 51

My airlock never smells 'rancid'.

Back Nine Brew&Wine
Life don't get better than a beer and a pepper.
What I am brewing is now a mystery

Old 09-08-2011, 06:59 PM   #13
flipfloptan
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 5

A better way to phrase this is: If you follow thorough sanitation practice beer is pretty resilient.