Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beer flavored water

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2009, 12:41 PM   #1
Mantis
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Beer flavored water

So let me start off by saying that I am brand new to home brewing, but I think I have a pretty good understanding of how it all works and the basic process of it all.

I purchased a BB robust porter kit about 3 weeks ago, brewed it (everything went well), and bottled it after two weeks in the primary.

So I got a little anxious and popped a bottle last night (beer was bottled on Saturday 2/7/09). Two things bothered me....It certainly doesn't look like a porter at all, and it tastes kind of weak, like beer flavored water. It isn't flat though, it does have some carbonation.

Now, my question is this: Does homebrew usually have a very clean aftertaste? Because this stuff has no after taste, it's weird.

And two, why does the beer look like Newcastle?? Is it the recipe or something i'm doing wrong.

Here's a list of ingredients that came with the kit: Yeild 5 Gallons

6.6 lbs Plain Amber Malt Extract
8 oz Crushed Crystal Malt
4 oz Crushed Chocolate Malt
4 oz Crushed Black Patent Malt
1 oz Cluster Hops (Boiling)
1/2 oz Willamette Hops (Finishing)

I steeped the grains for 30 mins at 155 degrees. I can't do full boils because my brew pot isn't big enough, but what i have been doing is boiling with 2 gallons then adding the wort to 3 gallons of water in the fermenter. Sorry if I left anything out, i'm kind of in a hurry (at work).

By the way, I know that all of this could just be a product of my impatience, and I do plan on letting the bottles age for another week before I jump to any real conclusions. Thanks.

Primary: IPA
Primary: Smoked Porter (My first recipe built by me!)
Secondary: Why?
Bottled: Apfelwein, DeathBrewers Franziskaner Dunkel Clone, Brownie Porter, Patersbier, Nut Brown