Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beer in 2 weeks?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2011, 03:38 PM   #1
Jeromy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beer in 2 weeks?

Ok, im new here and have been lurking somewhat. You all have been great with all the resources you have on this site.
Here is the question. ( and please bear with me as im a noob at this)
I brewed my first batch of beer at a local you brew place named "gallaghers where you brew". You go in and they help you with the recipe and you brew 13 gallons of beer. After its all brewed and in the fermentor they store and watch it. You then come back in 2 weeks, and bottle or keg it.
I have done 2 batches so far and love the product. How can it be drinkable and good like it is after only 2 weeks? Everything I see here on these forums tells me 3-4 weeks minimum.
The reason I ask, is I have taken the plunge and purchased a home brew setup form my local home brew store and want to do this at home now. I have even started to make a fermentation room in my wood shop, and will be making it climate controlled.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2011, 03:43 PM   #2
cadarnell
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 23

i think it depends on the style of beer ... i had a cream ale be killer at 2 weeks and an amber taste like crap until about 5 weeks ... rule of thumb for me has become .. if it taste pretty good and is clearly done fermenting .. I bottle, and start drinking it about a week later .. longer in the bottle is OK but all mine have been very drinkable after only a week in the bottle ...

Old 04-16-2011, 03:48 PM   #3
Golddiggie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 480 Times on 421 Posts
Likes Given: 266