The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Batch size and equipment loss question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2013, 11:19 PM   #1
j33p4x4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Batch size and equipment loss question

I've been brewing BIAB, cooling with an immersion chiller, and dumping (no pump) everything from my kettle into the fermenter. After boil, my 5.5 gal batch recipe made 5.5 gals of wort, and it would all go into the fermenter. I've just recently upgraded equipment and now have a valve on my kettle, a pump, and a plate chiller. I've measured my loss to the new equipment and see that without a pickup tube or tilting the kettle I have about 1.25 gallons that don't make it into the fermenter.

Am I understanding it right that in order to get the 5.5 gals into the fermenter, I'll have to adjust up my grainbill and hops to make a 6.75 gal of wort? I started brewing 1-gallon batches and that seems like a waste of perfectly great beer! If that really is the case I need to look into not losing so much wort to the equipment!

To other people that use pumps and chillers and other fun beer making equipment, do you just live with the gallon or so loss, or do you mess with it to harvest every last drop?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2013, 11:28 PM   #2
jbaysurfer
Former future HOF Brewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 360 Times on 269 Posts
Likes Given: 621