The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Bad Flavor

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2007, 01:28 AM   #1
TURBOANSARI
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Bad Flavor

I am new to homebrewing. My first batch turned out astonishingly delicious. The second turned out with an odd bitter flavor. The third tasted fine when i drank the sampling from the final gravity reading, but shortly after bottling I tasted a beer and i had the same odd bitter flavor. For the past three days I have been scratching my head trying to figure out why my brews are turning out so foul.

In my mind, the only reasonable explaination could be that bacteria is hiding out in the spigot of my bottling bucket. My bottling bucket doubles as my primary fermenter, but because the spigot is closed during primary fermentation, the bacteria may not be contaminating my fermenting worts until i run them through the bottling spigot. I do, however, run at least 2 gallons of soapy water and sanitizer through the spigot to before i begin the bottling process.

The other possibilities are that i am trying my beer too prematurely or that it is too hot here in South Carolina. The house might get to 85 degrees during the day, but the beer is usually kept on the cement floor which is in contact with the ground. My first brew that turned out great was brewed before the summer heat.

Can someone with more experience in brewing tell me what i might be doing wrong that is producing this odd flavor?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2007, 01:36 AM   #2
Yeast Infection
Recipes 

could be lots of things...but with out knowing alot more info:

Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBOANSARI