Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Attention new brewers, yes your original gravity reading is wrong. Don't panic.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 06:18 PM   #51
pvburton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Wow, glad I finally caught this thread. I have been doing this for 3 years now, only 2-3 AG batches a year, and my efficiency calcs have been all over the place. I've just been taking a quick reading pre-boil and convert to a post boil reading, no stir.

My most recent batch's reading was way low, despite one of the sweetest vorlaufs ever (I always gotta taste) so I'm kinda panicing since my BU:GU is way out of whack (also boiled the flavor hops a bit too long-- didn't double check the spreadsheet).

Now I think I can relax a bit :-)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2013, 01:09 AM   #52
WyattsWingShooter
Recipes 

After doing some research and reading this thread my worries were premature. As a new brewer I made the classic mistake of taking my sample right after I topped off with water and before I shook up the carboy. Thanks to everybody on this forum for the great info and I'll drink to a new great hobby I have discovered!

Old 01-31-2013, 05:55 PM   #53
Thorad
Recipes 

I recently brewed up a brown ale using a partial mash kit from my LHBS.

This is only my fifth brew, but I've been always able to hit my OG/FG within a point or two. But with this brew, I missed the OG by around 8 points. The recipe called for 1.058 and I was at 1.050.
I assumed that I just didn't get all the sugars out in the mash (my mash temp stayed a little higher than I wanted, around 160) or maybe some effect caused by the piloncillo sugar in the recipe.