Astringent Taste in Beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

belowfellow

Reaction score
Big thanks to the folks of this forum. By using this site, I have already had a few of my questions answered without having to ask them. Score.

Anyway, I am a complete noob who is very enthusiastic about beginning to homebrew. I have produced 2 batches thus far and both have a strong astringent taste. The first was a Red Ale kit that came with my brew setup. I followed the recipe to the letter and everything went as planned (I think). I also dry hopped it with 2 oz of Cascade leaf hops (not part of recipe). Smelled good at bottling, but has a pronounced astringent aftertaste. It bottle conditioned for 3 weeks before I tried one.

The second was an English Bitter. Again, followed the directions and thought everything went well. This beer has only been in the bottle for a couple of weeks, but it has an even stronger astringent taste at this point and I am a bit worried.

You don't say whether these were extract or all grain or partial kits. That would help us get started with the diagnostics. What were your sanitation procedures? Water used? Did you measure pH? Inquiring minds want to know. And help.

My first brew had a slightly astringent taste, so when I ordered the ingredients for my next batch I also ordered Campden tablets. I've continued to use them ever since and the astringency has never returned, however, if you're using water that is free of chlorine/chloramine then this probably won't work for you.

Best of luck,
Rick