Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Apathetic Yeast

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2011, 08:39 PM   #1
Fencemaker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Apathetic Yeast

I brewed a 5 gallon batch of one of Papazian's simple Belgian Dubbel recipes yesterday. OG of 1074. When I was purchasing the ingredients, LHBS gave me a Wyeast smack pack for Belgian Strong Ale. I smacked it, it inflated a little (I don't know how much it's supposed to as I've never used one before) and I pitched it at 75 degrees (wort). Normal aeration and mixing procedures. 24 hours later and no airlock activity. It's in a room that stays 72 degrees. Was thinking maybe pitch more yeast but I don't have any and can't get more until Wednesday. Should I pop it open to check for krausen even though I don't have more yeast ready if I need it? Try another brand? Do a fermentation dance? I'm hoping for guidance....

Can I mambo dog-face through the banana patch?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2011, 08:46 PM   #2
onthekeg
Recipes 

Liked 73 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Patience here. You could have made a starter, or pitched the yeast into 1 gallon of your wort and added the rest later. Either way, you have to wait. I'm betting you will have fermentation signs before too long. You probably have krausen already. Don't count bubbles.

Old 07-17-2011, 08:50 PM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2727 Times on 1635 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

First, airlocks mean ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, and remember, as the sticky says, fermentation can take 24 to 72 hours to start.

After 72 hours, if you're still worried, take a hydrometer reading.