*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Anyone brew a great beer with extract kits?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012, 01:11 PM   #11
alexsaunders
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Give us some more details and perhaps we can help with that bite.

I've been brewing with extract for the last 3 years, only one bad batch and that was a recipe malfunction (kit came with, I kid you not, 10oz of spices for a 5 gallon pumpkin beer - it smelt like a scented candle when we were done).

The kits have been Brewer's Best, the local homebrew shop (Brew Hut), and pieced together following Jamil's book.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 01:20 PM   #12
DPBISME
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 68 Times on 56 Posts
Likes Given: 76

Well of course... for about 10 years until when recently I moved to all grain.... BUT I alway steeped 3 pounds of "something" (usually crystal, roasted barley, oatmeal) for my 5.5 gallon batches... Most of the good extract brews I have had had some steeped grain...But I know people who don't and just play with the different Malt Extracts and they have it down to a science and brew tasty stuff... BUT they make sure when using LME that it is fresh...

Old 07-10-2012, 02:41 PM   #13
KingKlong
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 23

I've done around a dozen extract recipes now, and they've all turned out good. With and without specialty grains. I grow each time in the hobby, and on the past two I've started doing late additions. I want to move on though to at least partial mash if not BIAB or all out AG.

Old 07-10-2012, 02:48 PM   #14
boortzie
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts