Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Anyone brew a great beer with extract kits?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012, 11:38 AM   #1
ozzy4355
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Anyone brew a great beer with extract kits?

Know most of you on here are all grain but I'm just getting started with homebrewing and has been using extract kits from northern brewer. Unfortunately my first two beers were sub par, partially due to carbonic bite. Have any of you brewed a great beer with an extract kit, something that if you tried it in a store you would be glad to purchase it?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 11:45 AM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4367 Times on 3175 Posts
Likes Given: 850

I've always had good results with extract kits. I've done a couple from NorthernBrewer, but most of the ones I did were from austinhomebrew.com.

I'm not sure why yours aren't that good- carbonic acid shouldn't be an issue at all as a beer should be carbonated. What seems to be wrong with it?

dstamper441 Likes This 
Old 07-10-2012, 12:02 PM   #3
Uziyahu
Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 23

I've brewed five or six kits from Northern Brewer and they have all turned out excellent. I liked my beer better than what I could get in the store (Though I am a littled biased).

You'll have to give us more information about what the off taste is like and your process if you want help solving the problem.

Last edited by Uziyahu; 07-10-2012 at 12:03 PM. Reason: Spelling

Old 07-10-2012, 12:02 PM   #4
BPal75
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts