New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > american ipa extract recipe, tastes fruity, thoughts?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2012, 11:45 PM   #1
4traindays
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default american ipa extract recipe, tastes fruity, thoughts?

hello all, im new to home brewing, bought an extract kit from a store several weeks ago. american ipa kit, safale-05 yeast used. in primary for 7 days at 75 degree room temp, transferred to secondary, in there a total of 7 days as well. bottled 16 days ago, cracked one open and wow does it taste fruity! any thoughts would be appreciated. thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2012, 11:58 PM   #2
Glynn
Brewing 20 yrs & still a noob
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 116 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 21

the fermentation temp of was most likely to high and it produced some off flavors, I would bring the temp down to at least 65 next time. The easiest thing to do i place the fermenter in a tub of cold water and add frozen water bottles to help maintain the lower temp. then when fermentation is almost done let it rise to 70 to finish out

Good people drink good beer - Hunter S. Thompson
Duct tape. The handyman's secret weapon - Red Green

Naughty Kitty Brewing EST 1993
Primary 1 -
Primary 2 - House pale ale zythos
Primary 3 -
Secondary 1 -
Secondary 2 - House Pale Ale
Bottled - Imperial IPA, Simcoe IPA, Cali Common, Snowshoe pale ale

Old 09-12-2012, 12:00 AM   #3
woody34
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 11 Posts

Its still a young beer. Give it time for the flavors to blend. I believe a slight citrus flavor in the finished product is expected for this beer...so a stronger citrus flavor would make sense in the unfinished beer. Someone with more experience can discuss possible off-flavors from your high fermentation temp.

Old 09-12-2012, 12:01 AM   #4
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!