New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Almost a blowout

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2012, 02:44 AM   #1
sound-mind
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default Almost a blowout

I wanted to share pics of my first experiences bordering on a blowout. I have a derivative of yooper's Stone Ruination clone (extract) in primary. This is my first time using a 6 gal better bottle for primary. AC is on and I have it wrapped in a wet towel with a fan to drop it to a reasonable temperature. I saw a lot of activity when I got home from work today so I kept my eye on it. Caught it in what I believe to be just shy of a blowout later in the evening. It had pushed up the airlock top and was running down the fermenter.

Quickly read some posts here, checked youtube, and pinged a friend (manicmethod) to confirm the need for a blowoff. Got it setup and ready to go in what I can only assume was the nick of time - touching the airlock to remove it resulted in a spray. Thankfully this part of my basement is unfinished.

Things seem to be good now but quick question - some of the posts I've read allude to a smaller blowoff tube. I grabbed the first one that tightly fit, sanitized it, and crammed it on to the interior tube of a 3-piece airlock. Other research indicates a larger tube should be used to ensure it doesn't get clogged.

Should I seek a smaller tube? What is the benefit of a smaller tube in this case?

Finally, is using the inside of a 3-piece airlock worse than connecting it directly to the grommet?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2012, 06:13 AM   #2
Screech
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts