Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > All my beers are too thick & rich

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2012, 02:32 AM   #41
Cheepbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 66

OK I did the Newcastle recipe that Yooper suggested to me... all went without a hitch the instructions were perfect. It's all in the fermenter... I warmed up the yeast. I cooled the wort in a cold water sink with ice... I followed the instructions to a tee. About 3 hours worth of work if you count the cleaning and sanitizing. My hydrometer readings were 1.040 - 5.3% - 40brix whatever that may mean (Im still learning)... the brew smelled nice.

Thanks Yooper.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 02:41 AM   #42
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4343 Times on 3158 Posts
Likes Given: 845

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheepbeer View Post
OK I did the Newcastle recipe that Yooper suggested to me... all went without a hitch the instructions were perfect. It's all in the fermenter... I warmed up the yeast. I cooled the wort in a cold water sink with ice... I followed the instructions to a tee. About 3 hours worth of work if you count the cleaning and sanitizing. My hydrometer readings were 1.040 - 5.3% - 40brix whatever that may mean (Im still learning)... the brew smelled nice.

Thanks Yooper.
Great! Keep it cool (try for 65 degrees or so), and then bottle it in a couple of weeks. I'm a little concerned about what you mean by "warmed up the yeast", though!

Old 09-23-2012, 03:22 AM   #43
Cheepbeer
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I put the yeast in 4 oz lukewarm water like it said on packet????? 15 minutes before intro to wort????? It was magical! (really started off foaming)

Temp in bucket is 66 degrees. its pretty cool in my basement now that summer is over.