Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Airlock Problem

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2010, 07:49 PM   #1
Causedawg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Airlock Problem

I started brewing an India Pale Ale Saturday morning, and it is now Wednesday afternoon. I should probably be close to bottling it now, but I wouldn't know, because my airlock hasn't bubbled once.

The mistake is mine and my friend's. You see, we haven't brewed a batch of beer in over 5 years, so we've largely forgotten all the little ins and outs to everything. When we filled the 3 piece airlock and put it on the fermenting bucket, we didn't realize that the lid to the airlock was missing (or ever there in the first place) and we stuck it in the fridge not knowing our mistake. All these days later, I began getting concerned that it wasn't bubbling, and realized after looking at my spare 3 piece airlock that it had a lid, and this one we put on the fermenting bucket didn't. So, as far as I know, that would mean it can release CO2 but not necessarily keep air out. Am I right? Have I ruined it? Is there anything I can do pronto to salvage my batch or am I too late?

Also, you should note that the only place we had cool enough was my beer fridge in my garage, and the coolest we could get it was about 60 degrees, when the required temperature range was 64-72, I believe. We didn't think that would be a problem, just might cause a longer fermenting period.

Thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2010, 07:55 PM   #2
riverfrontbrewer
Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 4

No, you shouldn't be close to bottling, give it at least three weeks in the primary.

If you filled the airlock I am not sure what putting the lid on it was going to do....if it's filled it's filled. Where did your liquid go?