Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Airlock blew off last night... Is my batch ruined?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2011, 06:59 PM   #11
GeoGirl
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I had the airlock blow off sometime in the first 12 hours of fermentation. I was really worried about it having been infected because I did not catch it right away but going off the advise here and elsewhere, I just relaxed. 2 weeks later I racked to the secondary because I needed the primary. When I tasted it, there was a terribly bitter taste. I was still worried but set it aside for 2 more weeks. Yesterday I bottled the brew. When I taste tested it, while still a slight bit bitter, the flavor was not bad at all and the color was very pretty and spot on for a Belgian Ale.

Even though I am new to this, based off my experience, I don't think your batch is ruined.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2011, 07:01 PM   #12
Aschecte
Brewtus Maximus
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 65 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Quote:
Originally Posted by Florenz View Post
Ok, so let me start by saying that I know that I should have known better even though this is my first batch. I'm making a dunkelweisen. The fermentation activity was very lively and foam was coming through the top of my airlock last night. Against better judgment I did not put a blow off hose on. As I should have expected I found my airlock on the floor and quite a mess to clean up when I woke up this morning.

I sanitized the bung and made an improvised blow off tube this morning. My question is: Is my batch totally ruined? There is still quite a bit of fermentation activity and I heard that there is little risk of infection while the fermentation is going on.

Thanks

Bob
your probably fine if fermentation is vigorous more likely than not the co2 will push any bad stuff away from the bung opening.