LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2013, 02:13 PM   #1
jd410
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Airlock

I'm a beginner, after six days have not seen airlock activity in my lager.
Is this a bad sign?
Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2013, 02:14 PM   #2
CreamyGoodness
Grows On You Like Yeast
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1613 Times on 1137 Posts
Likes Given: 2710

Nope, normal.

You are more likely to have a threesome with members of the Japanese women's curling team whilst spinning a plate on your head than you are likely to screw up a batch of JAOM.

YES, WE HAVE TRIED OTHER YEASTS! USE BREAD YEAST FOR JAOM!

Old 03-07-2013, 02:15 PM   #3
andy6026
Recipes 

Liked 101 Times on 76 Posts
Likes Given: 54

From what I've read that's not necessarily a sign that the yeast isn't doing it's thing, but it's certainly worth having a look and/or a hydrometer reading at this point.

(I'm new too so default to others' advice over mine).

Old 03-07-2013, 02:51 PM   #4
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2733 Times on 1640 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

As useless as an airlock is a a gauge of fermentation in ales, it's even more useless for lagers. Remember gas EXPANDS when warm and contracts when cold. So therefore since an airlock is really only a vent to release EXCESS co2, there often isn't any co2 that needs to vent out, because it's contracted by the cold of the fermentation.

So it's even more important to use you HYDROMETER, to determine "activity," since a decrease in gravity really is the only way to know for sure.

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman