Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Weekend to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Aging in plastic - best worst option for aging Belgian Dark Strong Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2014, 04:14 PM   #1
NoelMueller
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Aging in plastic - best worst option for aging Belgian Dark Strong Ale

Hey guys,

Total noob here, first post, etc. I'm currently brewing my 8th brew (extract), a Belgian Dark Strong, and trying to plot my next move with it.

I brewed this to try and switch things up and utilize the warmer temperatures in my apartment, after a few harsh IPAs plagued by runaway fermentation temps. Its about 74-78 degrees in my closet right now, with the A/C blasting in my apartment.

Here are the basic specs:

5 Gal batch
-----
6lbs Gold LME
3lbs Pilsen DME
1lb Light Candi Syrup
-----
1 lb Belgian - Cara 45L (steeping grains)
-----
1 oz. East Kent Goldings (60 min)
1 oz. Hersbrucker (30 min)
1 oz. Styrian Celeia (15 min)
-----
1.076 SG
-----
Yeast: WLP530 (Abbey Ale) w/small 1.040 starter made from 1/2 cup of Pilsen DME.

So, after 16 days in a 6.5 gal bucket, the beer is down to 1.015. The first 4 days were quite entertaining, and I ended up using a foam stopper instead of a blow-off tube due to the RIDICULOUS krausen size. The foam stopper shot out of the bucket like a bullet and startled the bejesus out of my girlfriend (who was in the closet at the time). During the first week, the aromas coming off the bucket were juicy fruit, bubble gum and slight banana. Now, the aromas are more cidery and vinous.