The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Advice for a growing my home brewery

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2012, 05:57 PM   #1
MTate37
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 100 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Advice for a growing my home brewery

I've been brewing for a couple of months now and am pretty certain that this is something that I want to do as much as possible for as long as I can. Knowing that, I'm looking to expand my equipment in a logical way that will keep me from buying pieces that will be useless to me in a year or a few years.

So far I've done partial boil extract kits/recipes and a couple of BIAB one gallon recipes. I want to start doing full boils for five gallon batches, and know that I'll go all-grain at some point, but not for a little while.

We are hosting Thanksgiving this year and have decided to fry a turkey. Good news for me because we now need a burner and a larger kettle. I only have a four gallon pot and a two gallon pot currently.

So what size kettle should I buy? I'm thinking 7.5 to 8 gallons should be good for five gallon batches. Is there any need for anything larger considering that I'll move to all-grain at some point? I don't see myself doing ten gallon batches at any time.

As far as the burner goes, I'm thinking Bayou Classic right now. As sweet as the Blichmann looks, I can't see me frying a turkey on something that nice. I wouldn't want to get grease all over it. If I ever get to a tiered system with multiple burners then a Blichmann will definitely be in order.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2012, 06:13 PM   #2
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1826 Times on 1609 Posts
Likes Given: 1295

An 8 gallon BK should be just fine. And an extra LP tank just in case you run out during a boil.

Old 11-08-2012, 06:15 PM   #3
neosapien
Recipes