The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Adding steeping grains?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2009, 01:09 AM   #1
metaltim
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Adding steeping grains?

For my second brew, I have a hopped ironmaster imperial pale ale.. and some columbus hops. I'm still noob.. don't really know how the steeping thing works.. or rather.. which grains to steep with what extracts, etc.. but could I steep some grains in this extract to enhance the flavor? My first brew, an extract wheat beer.. tastes good, but little to no finish.. the taste just dissappears in your mouth a second after you drink it..

thanks for help and suggestions..

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2009, 01:19 AM   #2
Pappers_
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 865 Times on 622 Posts
Likes Given: 1920

Quote:
Originally Posted by metaltim View Post
For my second brew, I have a hopped ironmaster imperial pale ale.. and some columbus hops. I'm still noob.. don't really know how the steeping thing works.. or rather.. which grains to steep with what extracts, etc.. but could I steep some grains in this extract to enhance the flavor? My first brew, an extract wheat beer.. tastes good, but little to no finish.. the taste just dissappears in your mouth a second after you drink it..

thanks for help and suggestions..
A little more info will help - specifically, what's your recipe? Are you using a kit? If so, what's the recipe for the kit?

Also, for general information about extract brewing with steeping grains (and all other things related to brewing) take a look at How to Brew - By John Palmer

Cheers!

Old 07-28-2009, 02:35 AM   #3
metaltim
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts