Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Adding fruit to beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 05:48 PM   #1
brewtx
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 5

Default Adding fruit to beer

Hi all,

Im pretty new to brewing. But I have been pressured by my lady friends to make a fruity wheat beer. I was thinking of doing an apricot hefewiezen. I just wanted to get some ideas on how to do it. I was thinking about fermenting in the primary until FG is level and then racking to secondary. In the secondary I would add fruit and leave it for a week. What do y'all think of that plan? Is a week too short or too long? How should I cook the fruit before I add it and how much should I add (2.5 gallon batch)? I would just like general advice on this process. Thank you

Trevor

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 06:01 PM   #2
dstranger99
Recipes 

Liked 103 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 21

What kind of fruit? - Or you could always get those small containers of fruit additions from your local brew shop, if you go that way and are only doing 2.5 gal, just use only 1/2 of the container.

Primary: Caribou Slobber

Kegged: Stout

Bottled: Cent Blonde, Jakes Brown, Stout

I love Yooper........

brewtx Likes This 
Old 11-14-2012, 06:32 PM   #3
zzARzz
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 39 Posts

There's a very simple apricot wheat beer recipe from BYO here which uses an apricot extract from your LHBS.

If you want to make a wheat beer and add real fruit to it (dice or crush it), 2 lbs per gallon (5lbs) is good for lighter flavored fruits like apricot. There's another great article by BYO about using fruit in beer here that I referenced for a cranberry-apple lager I did. Very helpful.