Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Accidentally aereated an entire batch

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2009, 12:49 PM   #1
Ceramiclover
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Accidentally aereated an entire batch

A thoughtless mistake in the siphoning process made the siphon hose work more like a fish tank aerator. there was a gap of air that the beer bbbled through the whole racking process.
the batch was a mexican "cerveza" from extract. i am not going to lie. I am a noob at this and just want to know how badly i screwed this up. i started primary fermentation about eight days ago and racked it into a carboy two days ago. I am wondering whether i should bottle soon, give up on the batch, or say some charms.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2009, 01:04 PM   #2
ArcaneXor
Recipes 

Liked 77 Times on 73 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Just bottle it when it's ready, give it enough time to condition, then drink it before it becomes too stale. Oxidized beer eventually develops a cardboard-like flavor - still drinkable though.

In the future, use a smaller siphon hose. It may be a pain to get onto the auto-siphon or racking cane, but it won't allow any airbubbles to contact the beer, either.

Kegged: Fat Man Porter w/ 1469, Fat Man Porter w/ 005, Centennial Falcon w/ Conan, Centennial Falcon w/ Denny's, Barrel-aged Fat Man Porter, Belgian Dark Strong, Dark Mild

Old 03-12-2009, 01:08 PM   #3
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 41 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 7

I've had an air bubble in the siphon tube and not had issues, this was a small bubble though. I use silicone tubing now and a 1/2" autosiphon so it seals really well, and if there is an air bubble you can just pinch the tubing right above it (at the cane) and that will drive it down through the tubing and bubble up out.