The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Absolute newbie-What type of beer to start with??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2006, 03:45 AM   #1
Tennessee Bill
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Absolute newbie-What type of beer to start with??

HI, I am an Absolute newbie to homebrewing, and I don't know a lot about beer, other than my favorite is Killian's Red ( I know not very classy for a homebrew site!!) -What type of beer to start with?? Is there a recipe that approximates Killian's?? Also, what types of commercial beers should I experiment with before trying to homebrew?? Thanks, Bill.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2006, 03:54 AM   #2
George
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I always think that a stout is a great first brew. Roasty flavors mask some first timer mistakes and the dark color hides cloudiness (no clearity concerns). I love reds too, but those attempts might be saved for your 3rd or 4th batch.

On tap: Small-Dry Hopped w/cascade
Small -no dry hops
Red
Rye
Secondary:More red and rye
Primary: Brown (11 years at this and this is my 1st)

Old 04-16-2006, 04:04 AM   #3
Igorstien

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

An India Pale Ale was my first brew and I was quite pleased with the result.

IGOR

Fermenting: MT
Secondary #1: MT Secondary #2: MT
Conditioning: Nothing Drinking: Store bought
On Deck: Festa Brew Red Ale....As soon as I get my bucket back from storage.

All bottles are Guinness bottles, Plus Five Kegs!!!

Old 04-16-2006, 04:16 AM   #4
Levers101
Recipes 

I'm new too and from the advice everyone has given me it seems that highly hopped beers and stouts are the best to start out with.