New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > 4 Liters for Yeast Starter?? Is this right?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2013, 05:25 PM   #1
Mofoa
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default 4 Liters for Yeast Starter?? Is this right?

This is the my first time making a yeast starter and I plan on brewing a Pilsner over the weekend.

After checking both mrmalty and yeastcalc, it's telling me I need roughly 4.4-4.4 of yeast starter with one smack pack.

Here is my possible issue right now, since I am new to the tools referenced above, I wasn't 100% sure how to use the tool, and after playing around with it, I concluded that in order to get to around 350B yeast cells (as told my both tools), that I would need to triple my smack pack (100B cells) by making a 3L of starter--using 300 grams of DME and 3L of water for simplicity sake.

Today, I am back to playing with the tools and I "think" I need 4.2-4.4 Liters of starter using one smack pack. Does this sound right?

Using Wyeast 2278 (Czeck Pils) with an projected O.G. of 1.047.

Thanks in advance...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2013, 05:59 PM   #2
whoaru99
Recipes 

Liked 120 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 16

I came up with ~5L back dating the yeast a little bit on Mr. Malty (1.047 and 5.25 gal).

A couple of the other calculators suggest a step up starting with something like 1L then going to 2-3L.

Primary: Edwort's Apfelwein
Secondary: Russian Imperial Stout
Bottled: Waldo Lake Amber
Drinking: Edwort's Apfelwein
Drinking: Hank's Hefeweizen
Drinking: Maibock

"Charlie don't surf."

Old 01-11-2013, 06:07 PM   #3
sweetcell
Swollen Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 530 Times on 396 Posts
Likes Given: 217

http://yeastcalc.com/ is a useful tool for calculating step-ups.