The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Is 2 months enough time for a stout...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2012, 01:40 PM   #1
BeefCrewBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Is 2 months enough time for a stout...

to be ready from brew date to drink date?

I'm almost finished drinking my first brew--a tasty Amber Ale. I'm ready to brew again. I have my bachelor party retreat coming up October 6, and I want to brew the NB Imperial Stout Extract Kit. My question is whether the brew can be ready in time for that trip, which is almost exactly 2 months away, or should I brew something that can be ready to go faster? Any advice would be great.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2012, 01:47 PM   #2
BeefCrewBrew
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

The more I read about it the more I'm thinking I don't have the time.

Old 08-08-2012, 01:49 PM   #3
neko
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts

I haven't brewed that specific one but usually an imperial stout is better with more aging. Don't know what kind of bachelor party you are shooting for, but it seems like most of them go for the easier drinking/multiple beers angle.

Ring ding dong. Ring a ding-ding-ding dong

"We have invented the world's largest laser system" -Ahnold

Old 08-08-2012, 01:49 PM   #4
twistr25
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 111 Times on 104 Posts
Likes Given: 14

It would definitely be pushing it for a quality beer, especially an imperial. Two months is going to be close for any beer if you are bottling. If you are kegging, you should be fine, but I would probably go for something else. A good brown would be tasty getting into fall.

Future: ???
2013 Previous: Sunrise Honey Rye Pale Ale, Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Dark Skies Black IPA, Sunset Orange Kolsch, All Hallow's Eve Pumpkin Ale, Maple Vanilla Brown Ale, Raining Hops and Dogs IPA

Awards/Recognition