Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > 1st time brewing - no sign of fermentation?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2013, 04:17 AM   #1
jfck2000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 1st time brewing - no sign of fermentation?

Hi - I'm totally new to brewing and completed my first kit on Sunday. It's the Brewers Best American Amber. I followed the kit instructions step by step. I was worried because by Tuesday morning I still was not seeing any bubbling in the airlock. (I filled airlock half full of sanitizer water per the instructions and it has some bubbles on top of the sanitizer water that have been there since I filled half full). I put the fermenter bucket in a closet and it's been between 66 - 72 degrees. Yesterday I could notice the faint smell of my brew in the closet. Today I tapped the airlock with my finger because I was growing impatient and it's started bubbling! It bubbled most of the day slowly. Now tonight It's back to no activity. If I tap the airlock it's seems to bubble for awhile and then stop. The smell of the brew is getting very strong and starting to smell up my house (it smells great). Does this sound normal? Is there anything I can do to the airlock to make sure the bubbling stays active? Any suggestions for a newbie?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2013, 04:36 AM   #2
Whut
Weather is nice this time of year
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1636 Times on 1536 Posts
Likes Given: 8572

I'd think the below sticky will answer your questions.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/ferm...e-signs-43635/

Get off my lawn! - shecky
Shut up, old man!- Sharona

Old 04-10-2013, 04:39 AM   #3
BryceL
Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 26 Posts