Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Beginners Beer Brewing Forum (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/)
-   -   1st recipe/Final version (reviews please!) (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/1st-recipe-final-version-reviews-please-210926/)

SailorJerry 12-10-2010 11:03 AM

1st recipe/Final version (reviews please!)
 
Alright guys, below is the recipe that I've concocted for an APA. All my readings are close to where they are supposed to be for this style of beer minus the IBUs, which are just a tad low. If you could, please take a look and let me know what you think. The mash times listed are something that I am unsure of as this is my first AG batch but I'm doing it with a coworker of mine that has brewed AG for years, so I just through that in there, assuming he will do whatever he can to make it work. It's a 10 gallon boil, or so we are hoping!

Cheers!:mug:

Type: All Grain
Date: 12/6/2010
Batch Size: 10.00 gal
Brewer:
Boil Size: 11.45 gal Asst Brewer:
Boil Time: 60 min Equipment: My Equipment
Taste Rating(out of 50): 35.0 Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00
Taste Notes:

Ingredients

Amount Item Type % or IBU
1.00 lb Rice Hulls (0.0 SRM) Adjunct 4.44 %
14.00 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 62.22 %
2.00 lb Honey Malt (25.0 SRM) Grain 8.89 %
1.00 lb Caravienne Malt (22.0 SRM) Grain 4.44 %
1.00 lb Oats, Malted (1.0 SRM) Grain 4.44 %
1.00 lb Wheat, Flaked (1.6 SRM) Grain 4.44 %
0.50 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 2.22 %
1.75 oz Cascade [5.50 %] (60 min) Hops 15.9 IBU
2.00 oz Saaz [4.00 %] (Dry Hop 3 days) Hops -
1.25 oz Cascade [5.50 %] (20 min) Hops 6.9 IBU
1.25 oz Cascade [5.50 %] (10 min) Hops 4.1 IBU
0.25 oz Cascade [5.50 %] (5 min) Hops 0.5 IBU
2.00 lb Corn Sugar (Dextrose) (0.0 SRM) Sugar 8.89 %
2 Pkgs SafAle English Ale (DCL Yeast #S-04) Yeast-Ale

Calder 12-10-2010 12:08 PM

Get more hops. You are going to have 10 gallons of this. An APA with 27 IBUs will have something missing.

Why the rice hulls? Won't hurt.

2 lbs of honey malt seems a lot.

SailorJerry 12-10-2010 12:33 PM

Alright, cut back the honey malt to one pound, using the rice hulls because the guy I'm brewing with likes to use them and I'm going at his word since i've never done AG before. I can up the hops, that isn't a problem, but what is your advice on cascades. Should I up the 60 minute boil hops for a little more bitterness or at the end for more flavor/aroma? I don't think cascades are too bitter if I remember correctly, but it's been awhile since I've brewed.

The one reason I decided to do any honey malt was just to give it a little extra flavor instead of just using Crystal malt for sweetness.
Thanks for the input, I really appreciate your guys' opinions, keep 'em coming:rockin:

dave5155 12-10-2010 12:50 PM

I'd up the bittering hops to anywhere from 30-45 ibu's and add an additional ounce or three at the 0-5 minute marks for some good aroma and flavor.

sgillespie 12-10-2010 01:08 PM

Which IBU method did you use?

SailorJerry 12-10-2010 01:10 PM

I used whatever beersmith gave me when I made up the hop schedule :)

sgillespie 12-10-2010 01:45 PM

Looks like default in BeerSmith is Tinseth. In my experience, IBU's in Tinseth are generally lower than others (Jamil Zainasheff uses Rager for ex), especially for late hop additions.

Rager gives you 39.7 IBU
Tinseth: 28.6

I'd say thats definitely acceptable for an APA

sgillespie 12-10-2010 01:48 PM

Additionally, I would agree that 9% Honey malt is way too much, especially for an American PA

SailorJerry 12-10-2010 02:11 PM

I lowered the amount to a pound, is that still to much?

rj_hockey 12-10-2010 02:33 PM

Cascade only makes a great APA!! I don't understanding the sugar though.
I use 18 lbs of 2 row in my 10 gal batches, and a few misc other grains for 22 lbs total. May be a little much but it tastes great!!!IMO 1lb of honey is still a tad high but I don't like that much sweetness in my beer. Remember its all about personal tastes when you brew YOUR beer.

Looks like an interesting recipe though, I've never had an APA with oats and wheat before might be something to try.

Oh and kick the hops up to about 7-8 ounces if you stay with all cascades in the boil.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.