12oz vs 22 oz

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

williamsdm1111

Reaction score
Hi. I'm pretty new to both brewing and this site. I'm about to bottle my first batch and was wondering if there is any benefit to bottling in a 12oz vs a 22 oz.
Thanks
Dan

I think you get better beer to dregs ratio from smaller vs. larger bottles.

Can pour one 12oz bottle in one fell swoop with little dregs, but with larger bottles you may need to make multiple pours to empty the bottle. Multiple pours from one bottle stirs up more dregs for each succeeding pour.

I usually bottle with a case of 12oz bottles and a case of 22oz. I typically use the 12oz'ers as the ones to give to people to try. The 22oz'ers I enjoy exclusively for myself since I mostly enjoy my beer in a pint glass, and want to be able to pour a proper pint. If you're bottling for the first time, try bottling a case of each and see which you enjoy more.

Cheers

I prefer 22/24 oz. because it takes less time to bottle, takes less room to store, and technically saves a few cents a batch on caps. I deal with the multiple pours by never letting the bottle tip back and pour into two glasses in one pour.

I like bottling into both personally. Also, some beers have in between sizes. A lot of English beers seem to have strange sizes. I like a variety, but having at least some 22's definitely cuts down on the work.

I prefer 22/24 ounce beers and bigger glasses! Much less work, better gifts, and who just drinks one beer anyway!? :rockin:

22oz are cool and look better, like a fine bottle of wine. The 12oz'ers are free, and make better gifts becasue you'll never see them again. I'll go with free every time.