*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > 10 days and still bubbling in the airlock

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2009, 09:38 PM   #1
volvodude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 10 days and still bubbling in the airlock

I probably know the answer to my question, but a little moral support would be wecome. I brewed my first beer on saturday June 6 and here it is June 18 and the airlock is still bubbling. I used WLP 001 yeast without a starter (I'm a noob, I didn't know I probably should have). I think I probably also under aerated a bit. Anyway it took approx 36 hours to show life in the airlock, but it was fairly vigorous for about 18 hours and then less so. I has been bubbling steadily ever since, though it seems to slow a bit each day. I checked the gravity on 6-17 and it was 1.030 (OG 1.054), so I know it has a little ways to go. My question is: will the long lag time and prolonged fermentation contribute any off flavors to the final product. I tasted it when I checked the gravity and it was actually pretty good. A little bitter, but I may have been a bit aggressive with the hops. Any input apprciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2009, 09:40 PM   #2
Makeyermark
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I don't think the long fermentation will hurt anything. Just be really patient with it and don't bottle it until it hits the target FG. That bitterness will mellow once you have bottle conditioned for several weeks and cool them down.

Drinking: Store Bought
Bottle Conditioning: Band Aid Hefe
Secondary: Air
Primary: Austin Home Brew Blue Moon Clone

Old 06-18-2009, 09:42 PM   #3
Ben25
Recipes 

Your beer will most likely be fine. Just give it another week or so to finish fermenting. Also, take a couple gravity samples the last 2 days just to make sure it's done.

Primary #1:
Primary #2:
Secondary #1: Mead Experiment
Secondary #2: Welch's Wine Experiment