Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > 1 gallon Brooklyn brew shop question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2012, 08:13 PM   #1
raining_turtles
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 1 gallon Brooklyn brew shop question

I recently started brewing my first batch of beer with the all grain kit from Brooklyn brew shop (grapefruit honey ale) and all went perfect, until fermentation. It produced a Krausen but then it seemed that fermentation stopped... the weather here in KC is ridiculously hot right now and it's hard keeping our house under 80 degrees.
I have since moved the carboy to the basement where it holds a pretty solid 75 degrees. But there is no bubbling or airlock activity. I have read that air lock activity is not a good way to judge fermentation, but should I pitch some more yeast, or should I just let it go and trust the beer gods that every thing will come out ok.
I'm just worried that the temps spiked to high at the beginning of the fermentation process.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
NateM137
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Hello,

I'm relatively new here but I've found the most common advice is to wait. Patience is the key to brewing. Also it might help if we had a little more info such as how long after brewing did the airlock activity start and stop, what yeast did you use, and if you have any gravity readings.

Old 07-22-2012, 08:22 PM   #3
BlakeL
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

All the batches I've done so far using dry yeast have stopped bubbling vigorously after the first few days. I wouldn't worry about it.

Old 07-22-2012, 08:27 PM   #4
raining_turtles
Recipes