Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > 1-Gallon Brewers UNITE!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2012, 08:47 PM   #61
Gunnarubex
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I brew in 1 gallon batches for several reasons. I live in a spider hole of an apartment, so I don't have room for 5 gallon carboys and large burners, etc. Second, my wife doesn't really drink beer, so what I brew I have to drink on my own, or share it. Third, I'm fairly new to brewing and don't want to be known as that guy who gives out crappy beer. And fourth, it's really nice to have several different beers in different stages of production. This way I don't have to wait around when one runs out, there's always something fresh coming up.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2012, 09:30 PM   #62
zgo
Recipes 

I've been doing one gallon AG batches for about 6 months now (after a year of extract stuff with friends), and it's great for a number of reasons:
1. Variety
2. Educational (series of smash brews)
3. Honing a method that I can--when I have the dough--scale up to larger batches with bigger and better equipment. Even then, though, I'll probably only do 3 gallons, just to keep a variety of beer around.

The only thing is that it isn't cost effective. I don't have a decent LHBS around here (the one we've got sells grains by the pound, and just a few at that), so I have to order everything online. Unless you're planning on brewing every week and order all the ingredients at once, the cost per bottle is less than decent. If you do order stuff for four brews at the beginning of each month, then you'll have crushed grains sitting around for weeks. The yeast alone accounts for almost 40% of the cost even though I'm only using half a pack. This is why I'll be going to 3 gallons in the near future.

Old 04-03-2012, 12:23 AM   #63
cmybeer
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 16 Posts