Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > 1-Gallon Brewers UNITE!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2013, 07:12 AM   #3261
MedBrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 14

I use that ac-100 and its a great little scale!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2013, 04:49 PM   #3262
Dustinj
Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Hey guys, I'm just getting into brewing. I have done one 1 gal extract and ordered a 1 gal extract kit of caribou slobber to keep going as I build up to 5 gal. But for now the 1 gal is fun and easy. Here's my question. I have a 5 gal crawfish pot that I'd like to do my 1 gal kit in so I can full boil. I also have a home built immersion cooler I could use in it as well. Is full boil ok for extract? Should I start with more than 1.25 gal like the recipe calls for? Say 1.5 gal or more?

Old 06-30-2013, 05:06 PM   #3263
LabRatBrewer
Lost in a Maze
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 784 Times on 544 Posts
Likes Given: 1289

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustinj View Post
Hey guys, I'm just getting into brewing. I have done one 1 gal extract and ordered a 1 gal extract kit of caribou slobber to keep going as I build up to 5 gal. But for now the 1 gal is fun and easy. Here's my question. I have a 5 gal crawfish pot that I'd like to do my 1 gal kit in so I can full boil. I also have a home built immersion cooler I could use in it as well. Is full boil ok for extract? Should I start with more than 1.25 gal like the recipe calls for? Say 1.5 gal or more?
you are right that you will need go use more water to compensate for the boil off. Every pot/burner combo's rate is different, you'll have to test it. I'd guess you need close to 2 gals (note I usually boil 90min).

Old 06-30-2013, 09:33 PM   #3264
RoughandReadyRanch
Recipes 

Liked 60 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 11