Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Why do most homebrewers make really hoppy beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2008, 04:00 PM   #51
karbinator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnettcb
I am completely new to homebrewing but I have to agree that I am not a huge fan of super-hoppy beers. I have been trying to increase my appreciation of hoppy microbrews for years, but I still find myself coming back to the maltier varieties.

In another thread, I came across this chart:
Hops-Gravity Relationship

You could use this chart to ensure that your beer ended up on the maltier side, even if you are brewing a higher gravity beer.
Good to Know Barnettcb !! Thanks for the link !!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2008, 02:24 PM   #52
Junebug

Recipes 

I tend to brew on the hoppier side, but I can make concessions. I brewed an Irish Ale for my girlfriend yesterday with an IBU of 17.0. Got to keep others happy!

Conditioning: Irish Cream Ale

Conditioning: Kilkenny Irish Ale

Old 02-11-2008, 02:30 PM   #53
Beerthoven

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I brew hoppy beers because my wife is a hop head.

For myself I make bitters, porters, and low/med IBU Pale Ales.

Primary/Secondary: #109 Rye, #110 APA

Kegged: #106 American Wheat, #107 IPA, #108 Nut Brown

Planned: Red IPA, American Brown

Old 02-11-2008, 02:50 PM   #54
Homercidal
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 2128 Times on 1524 Posts
Likes Given: 1169

While still a teenager, I drank Coors Light, and though it was strong! But, after turning 21 (And it became easier to acquire more different beers), I started tryign different things. About the time I tried brewing myself, and started knowing more about different beer styles, I got hold of some "real" beer.