Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Why do most homebrewers make really hoppy beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2008, 03:46 AM   #21
rescue brew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I am with you thread starter, not a huge fan of ultra hoppy beer. I like a good IPA once in a while, but tend to enjoy a roasty brown, porter or stout more.

ALTHOUGH...I am new to Home Brewing and keep getting the urge to make a really hoppy ale !! what gives?! noob hops disease?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2008, 04:37 AM   #22
FlyGuy

Recipes 

Liked 136 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 7

There is an interesting cycle that a lot of brewers go through. First there's the dark beers, then there is the hoppy beers, then its Belgians, then its the lambics and sour beers, then it is the subtle, low gravity beers or the rich (malty) beers. You are just skipping ahead!

Old 02-08-2008, 04:50 AM   #23
Fender230
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Well I am a young fellow (22) and all of you out there saying that BMC is ruining taste buds, there is truth to that. I stole a Busch from my father when I was 14 or so. Tasted bad... real bad. I went into high school and tried to develop a taste for beer... it seemed like one of those things where it would just click... ya know. I hated everything that everyone was drinking (remember I was in high school) and I think they did too. I stopped drinking beer and switched to whiskey... which I did grow to love and still do... Then one day I had a Saranac (say what you will it's better than BMC) and I tasted hops for the first time. From that day I started advocating good beer. Going to Sam Adams made me want to brew... and I do in fact live a 10 minute walk from there so if I need inspiration I go there or Harpoon.