Using wyeast 1945 NB Neobritannia above 74

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biohaz7331

Reaction score
Alright so I am about to get all my new brewing equipment and start brewing actual 5 gallon batches of beer. I have ordered quite a lot and don't really want to spend too much more. I am a College student (legal, senior year) and I am in a apartment that has no a/c. I started to think about getting everything ready, and I realized the yeast needs a temperature of 66-74. It has been averaging about 78-82 during the day. My question is will the yeast be okay or should I not even bother brewing until I set up a mini fridge with a temp controller. I thought it would start to cool off around here by late August but it still hasn't been getting cold out like I was hoping. Any suggestions or advice would be great. As a side note I cannot use a bath tub because I have a small shower and I would like to avoid using a tub and ice because it is inconsistent. Lastly would it be cheaper to get an in window a/c unit or set up a fridge with temp control?

My opinion is that you will get some off flavors at a temp of 78-82. The fermenter is generally going to run warmer than your airtemp, so youd probably be fermenting in the low/middle 80s. Thats not good. My basement is middles sixties and I usually use a swamp cooler the first week or so.

Since you ruled out a swamp cooler, the only suggestion I can make beyond a fridge is a closet with an AC unit.

Alright thanks I think I will do the a/c unit so I can also have some comfort. Would it be fine If I had it in a window to a small room (12'x12') also is it better to cool the whole room or area instead of a fridge or is it just cheaper and safer because your beer won't freeze if there is no temp controller?