Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Replacing Munich Malt in Extract Recipe

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2014, 02:54 PM   #1
DukeAC
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Replacing Munich Malt in Extract Recipe

Hey everybody,

First of all, this is my first time posting on the board and just wanted to give a general "thank you" to this forum for providing so much info about homebrewing...it's really been a great help as I'm diving into this new "hobby".

I'm a reasonably new homebrewer and have a (possibly dumb) question about a recipe I'm thinking about brewing. I want to brew a clone of Founders Porter (recipe from http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/any-...s-info-160119/, copied below) and am trying to convert this to an extract recipe. Is there a way to replace the Munich malt in this recipe besides getting Munich LME (which comes in larger packages than I'd need)? I was thinking about replacing the Munich with something like Aromatic Malt. Any thoughts? Thanks a lot for your help.

-Aaron

9.5 lbs 2 Row
1.25 lbs Chocolate Malt
1 lb Munich
10 oz Carapils
6 oz Crystal 120 L
4 oz Black Patent

Mashed at 155 for 60 minutes
75 Minute Boil

Hops:
60 min - 0.75 oz Nugget (12.2%)
20 min - 0.75 oz Hallertau (4.5%) and 0.75 Willamette (4.9%)
Flameout - 0.25 oz Hallertau and 0.25 oz Willamette

For yeast, I used WLP001.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 02:57 PM   #2
Jayhem
Recipes 

Liked 258 Times on 208 Posts
Likes Given: 1163

Munich is similar to Vienna malt, it's just a kilned malt that has a more malty taste than 2-row. Munich also adds some copper color to the beer in larger quantities. Aromatic is MUCH stronger tasting than Munich. If you sub it I would use like 4oz Aromatic

Next up: American Pale Ale
Primary 1&2: American Brown Ale