Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Question on Vienna Malt

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2010, 02:36 AM   #1
Tlylebrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Question on Vienna Malt

Maybe I should be posting this in the all grain section, but because I am going to use extract to duplicate this I posted it here.....

I have a Two-Hearted Ale clone that calls for 2# of Vienna Malt. My question is two fold:

1. Is there an extract I can substitute for the Vienna Malt?

2. My thought is No on question one, so because of this do I need to do a partial mash with the Vienna Malt?

Sorry for my Newbie'ness, but I am still learning. :-)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2010, 02:37 AM   #2
Tlylebrew
Recipes 

Decided I should post the whole recipe... Goose1873 originally posted this in a thread, figured I should give him credit:

All Grain Recipe - Bells Two Hearted IPA ::: 1.064/1.012 (5.5 Gal)
Grain Bill (75% Efficiency assumed)

10 lbs. - 2 Row Pale Malt
2 lb. - Vienna Malt
1/2 lb. - Caramel/Crystal Malt (15L)
1/2 lb. - CaraPils

Hop Schedule (47 IBU)

1/2 oz. - Centennial (60 min.)
1/2 oz. - Centennial (45 min.)
1/2 oz. - Centennial (30 min.)
1/2 oz. - Centennial (15 min.)
1/2 oz. - Centennial (flameout)
1 oz. - Centennial (Dry Hop)
*optional*
If you like a bit more hop, use 1/2 oz of Centennial as a First Wort Hop addition

Yeast

Wyeast American Ale II Yeast (#1272) - 1800 ml starter

Mash/Sparge/Boil

Mash at 153° for 60 min.
Sparge as usual
Cool and ferment at 65° to 68°

Old 03-26-2010, 02:56 AM   #3
DirtyPolock
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I recently brewed an extract version of EdWorts Haus Pale ale which called for Vienna Malt. To substitute the Vienna malt you should be able to use Munich Malt Extract from Austin Homebrew which is mentioned in the Haus Pale Ale thread.

Primary #1: Cascade/Willamette APA
Primary #2: Air