Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Purple Haze clone recipe?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2008, 10:14 PM   #1
AndrwHock
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Purple Haze clone recipe?

I was wondering if anyone has a good purple haze clone. I know the ladies love the fruit beers, and it would be nice to have some on hand. It would also be a decent change from the tons of cream stout I have bottled. I've been looking around and here's what I've come up with so far for a 5 gallon batch. This is my first attempt at putting together a recipe so any help would be appreciated.

6# wheat LME

8 oz. Carapils

4 oz. Raspberry extract or puree, whatever I can find

I'm not sure what hops to use, perhaps 3 oz. Tettnang or 2 oz. Norther Brewer because I have that much left over

Wyeast 3068

Any suggestions? comments? funny anecdotes?

Thanks guys

Old 03-04-2008, 11:40 PM   #2
mrk305
Beer Dude in the Sunset
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 22

I've never made a wheat, so I am no help on the recipe. I did just bottle a batch of some kind of stout or porter using rasberry extract though. I used about 1.25 oz, maybe 1.5 oz. for 3 gallons. I bottled half the batch straight, then added the extract. I poured it in and tasted it, and that was perfect. I am sure glad I didn't dump in any more. Four oz. for five gallons is going to be way sweet in my opinion. That stuff is really concentrated. Whatever your recipe, I would use start with two ounces of the rasberry and taste test. You can add more, but you can't take it out!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2008, 11:55 PM   #3
AndrwHock
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Thanks for the tip on the raspberry. Does anyone have advice on what hops to use?