Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Newbie's First non-Mr Beer Brew: Briess Final Course

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 02:51 AM   #1
ryno1ryno
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default Newbie's First non-Mr Beer Brew: Briess Final Course

Okay guys. I'm a newbie thanks to Mr.Beer!

It was too easy. So I decided to read and read and read about how to brew with more control. Let me just say, there are some serious beer nerds out there on the interwebs. And I mean that with the utmost respect. I'm an engineer myself.

But holy molly, there are some serious beer brewers out there and there is a ton of information to go with.

In saying all of that, I finally order me some ingredients from Midwest Supplies. My first attempt will be with Briess's recipe, "Final Course" (you can find it on their website):

Quantity Ingredient
6.6 lbs Briess CBW® Pilsen LME
0.75 lbs Briess Caramel Malt 40L
0.5 lbs Briess Caramel Malt 60L
0.25 lbs Briess Caramel Malt 120L
0.5 lbs Briess Chocolate Malt
1.25 oz East Kent Golding (5.0 AA) 60 minute boil time
1 vial WLP002 English Ale Yeast

Brewing Procedures:
1. Steep crushed grains at 160 – 170ºF for 30 minutes.
2. Remove grains.
3. Bring to boil.
4. Add East Kent Golding Hops.
5. Boil 60 minutes.
6. Cool and pitch WLP002 English Ale Yeast.

Fermentation:
Primary: 14 Days 65 – 68ºF
Secondary: 14 Days 35ºF

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2012, 03:00 AM   #2
ryno1ryno
Recipes 

Okay, I couldn't get all of the ingredients exactly. So I did what anyone else would do, deviate from the recipe and make my own.

Here is my alteration:

6 lbs Briess Amber LME
2 lbs Briess Caramel Malt 60L
1.25 oz Kent Goldings
1 vial WL002 English Ale Yeast

The big difference is I am noy using a Pilsen LME base, but rather an Amber for the base.