Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > My first departure from Kit Brewing...this is what i've come up with

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2012, 11:43 PM   #11
zzARzz
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by J187 View Post
I used extract and I actually manually put it 5 gallon kettle with a 4 gallon boil, so it would match exactly what he said he was going to do.

I'm only asking because I'm relatively new to beersmith and want to make sure I'm crossing my T's and dotting my i's and I didn't overlook something or not know something about the software.
I've only been working with the software a few months myself and am still finding new things. I think numbers in BeerSmith (and any brewing software for that matter) have to be taken with a grain of salt. There are so many variables in brewing and so many different ways of doing the same thing that their recommendations are better taken as a close guide rather than the Alpha and Omega of what the end product will be. Besides, a great beer is more than just a bunch of numbers; if it were, there'd only be one for each style to choose from. I'm sure the truth lies somewhere between what each one of us came up with

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 01:18 AM   #12
J187
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 95 Times on 73 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzARzz View Post