The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Mr. Beer experiment

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2010, 01:30 AM   #1
emr454
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Mr. Beer experiment

It's been a while since I've made any beer and I am still a complete novice. With that being said, I decided to start my summer break by doing a little experiment with some Mr. Beer malt I had laying around.

I used one of the 19 oz. cans of Canadian Draft LME and decided to make an experimental 1 gallon batch. Since the kits normally use a can of LME plus corn sugar to make 2 gallons, I figured the can of LME by itself might make a semi half decent 1 gallon batch.

So I put a gallon of water on to boil, added the LME and boiled for 30 minutes. I also added a bit of light DME that I had, maybe 1/4 cup? At the 15 minute mark I added some Kent Goldings pelletized hops, and at flameout I added some home-grown cascade. I pitched some Safale US 05 at room temp and put it in the basement. Original Gravity reading was 1.058. Looking forward to how it turns out!

What do you all think? Might it be half decent? It sure cant be any worse than the regular Mr. Beer batches IMO.

Eric

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2010, 02:09 AM   #2
demonrichie
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

sounds like it could be a success. have you used ur home-grown cascades before with success? let us kno how it goes

Old 05-14-2010, 03:17 AM   #3
midfielder5
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 50 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Is the LME hopped?
If not, it might be too sweet/ i.e, not bitter enough to counter the malt. Bittering hops boil for 45-60 min generally. The cascades and EKG will add a nice flavor and aroma tho.
Good luck!

Old 05-14-2010, 12:32 PM   #4
emr454
Recipes