Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Lagers without tempreture control

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2012, 05:45 PM   #1
cstacey44
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 27

Default Lagers without tempreture control

Hello,
Ive been tempted to move onto brewing a lager style beer (like festa brew Blonde Lager). Most of the kits appear to use the following yeast :Saflager S-23

The yeast recommends you ferment between 9-15 Celsius. I am fairly new to brewing, and I dont have the equipment to control the tempreture of the fermentation. The room that I have been using is typically around 20-22 Celcius.

Has anyone tried fermenting a lager yeast at this tempreture range? Can I simply ferment at this tempreture, and then lager later on once its bottled?

Just wondering if I should bother, or stick with Ales.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2012, 05:51 PM   #2
aiptasia
Recipes 

Liked 527 Times on 468 Posts
Likes Given: 162

Lagering is just essentially cold temperature fermentation. It takes longer to complete but it produces some nice clean smooth tasting beers. You could use a dual purpose yeast like nottingham that does well in a wide range of temperatures or just hold off on lagering until you can control your fermentation temperature.

2014: Seven Heavens Series One: Vilon, Mystic Melomel, Skeeter Pee.
cstacey44 Likes This 
Old 09-18-2012, 05:54 PM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4272 Times on 3112 Posts
Likes Given: 820

A 20-22 degree room is even a bit on the warm side for most ales, and I wouldn't attempt a lager until maybe winter or late fall when you may have a cooler place.

I'd try my best to even keep my ales at 20 C or under, and since fermentation creates heat sometimes I hit 20C with my fermenting beer even in a room where the ambient temperature is 17C.

cstacey44 Likes This