New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > From kits to recipes...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2007, 02:29 PM   #1
ctalbot
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default From kits to recipes...

I apologize if this belongs in the beginner's forum, but since it's directly related to extract brewing (even if it's beginner questions ), I thought I should post it in here.

I started brewing this summer with basic extract kits -- the 1.9kg liquid extracts from Coopers and the like that come with a yeast packet. Add water and sugar, and done. That kind of stuff. The first was a stout, which is just about gone now. The second was a blonde beer, which has spent a week conditioning in bottles. I opened one last night, and the flavours are weak.

Up until now, I've just been using the can of extract, water and dextrose (boiled together for an hour) and then the yeast. I want to move on to extract-based recipes so I can hopefully start making better homebrews.

I've been thinking of starting by taking a kit (my next is a Canadian red ale) and adjusting it with malt extract syrup (for the red, I'm looking at amber malt extract syrup) and trying to increase the taste and bitterness with hop pellets. Basically, I want a maltier and hoppier taste.

Does it make sense to do this as a step between the kits and extract recipes? If so, what's the general rule of thumb for how much of the syrup I should add to the boil?

Chris

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2007, 02:45 PM   #2
brewt00l
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 2

www.howtobrew.com

Read the section on Extract brewing with steeping grains. IMHO you will get a better beer than trying to jazz up can kits with more malt and hops.

Old 11-14-2007, 02:54 PM   #3
ctalbot
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewt00l
www.howtobrew.com