Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Ingredient kits

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2012, 01:13 PM   #1
lewisjt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Ingredient kits

Does anyone have any suggestions on where to buy my next ingredient kit? I'm new to the game and only have one brew under my belt so I want to stick to simple extract kits...for now. My local shop has prices that aren't appealing and northern brewer shipping rates kill the deals.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2012, 01:25 PM   #2
KISS Brew
Recipes 

Liked 50 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by lewisjt View Post
northern brewer shipping rates kill the deals.
If you order online, you're going to have to pay shipping. Remember that "free shipping" means that prices are generally higher.

Northern Brewer's flat rate shipping is actually pretty awesome as long as you buy enough to make it worth your while. I'd also suggest Austin Homebrew, but you might complain about their generous shipping as well. Personally, I think both have reasonable prices, especially with their flat rate shipping.

Bottled:
Hoptoberfest IPA, Oktoberfest Ale, Blonde Ale, Scottish Ale, Oatmeal Stout, Edwort's Apfelwein, Janet's Brown Ale, Irish Red Ale, Strawberry Wheat, ESB, Belgian Pale Ale

KISS Brew Homebrewing Blog

Most recent post: Beyond the Pale Ale Recipe

Old 08-09-2012, 01:33 PM   #3
bobbrews
Recipes 

Liked 281 Times on 242 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Recipes galore here:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f82/

Go for the ones that require full volume boils with no top off water.

Old 08-09-2012, 01:36 PM   #4
kh54s10
Recipes 

Liked 597 Times on 505 Posts
Likes Given: 160

Northern Brewers flat rate shipping covers the ingredient kits and is $7.99
I used to buy 2 or 3 kits and some other supplies on each order.

Others have $5.99 flat rate shipping but their prices are a little higher.