Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > How do I accomplish this... SWMBO insists on it... Help

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2008, 05:01 PM   #1
MediaMikes
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How do I accomplish this... SWMBO insists on it... Help

I just ordered an extract cream ale that will arive this week and get brewed this weekend. My girlfriend asked me if I could induce orange into it. I told her that I know it is possible to add fruit to a beer during the brewing process, but wasn't sure how to do it (this is my first time brewing). Does anybody here know how I would be able to get an orange flavor into my beer so that I can make her happy? I found where you can do rasberries and stuff like that but not oranges. what is the best way to do it?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2008, 05:05 PM   #2
bradsul
Flyfisherman/brewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 4

The safest bet is to get an orange extract flavouring from your LHBS. Once your beer is into the bottling bucket, you add it slowly until you're happy with the flavour.

For your first batch however I might still think about doing it as per the kit directions. You will have enough to worry about without over-complicating things.

Projects: Sylvania Kegerator Conversion, Tower Cooling, Grain Milling Station

Old 02-18-2008, 05:07 PM   #3
olllllo
[]-O-[]

Recipes 

Liked 125 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 13

http://www.williamjamestrading.com/showProducts.aspx?search=orange

This type of thing is available in most Hombrew stores. Costs about $2.
Ginger Beer for Moscow Mules Bacon Vodka
Twitter

Old 02-18-2008, 05:08 PM   #4
jester22151
Recipes