The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Help! Trouble with Brewer's Best Irish Stout

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2007, 10:29 PM   #1
broomdalf
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Help! Trouble with Brewer's Best Irish Stout

Over this past weekend, I started brewing my third batch of beer (Well, the second was a braggot), picking up a Brewer's Best kit from the LHBS. I followed the instructions fairly well (had serious trouble getting the water to a good boil with my wimpy burners, and I'm not sure it ever reached one), added the wort to my fermenter, added water, let it cool, and pitched the yeast.

Since then, no airlock activity has occured. Assuming that the original yeast in the kit must have just been bad, I bought another packet of Nottingham Ale yeast at the LHBS yesterday, rehydrated it according to directions, and then poured that in.

As my airlock currently stands, the water level inside that cup thing is higher than the outside, which bodes very bad.

What might I be able to do to save my batch?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2007, 11:03 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4202 Times on 3059 Posts
Likes Given: 780

To help, I'll need just a few more details- what is the temperature that the fermenter is at now, and what was the original gravity? What temperature was the wort when you added the yeast originally? And finally, what is the sg now?

Old 09-13-2007, 12:04 AM   #3
DeathBrewer
Maniacally Malty
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 202 Times on 112 Posts

i can't believe you'd get two bad packs of Nottingham...are you fermenting in a bucket? maybe your seal isn't very tight...i'll bet she's going and you just don't know it...

"Death is always with us." - Brewpastor

Quote:
DIAICYLF
We will remember...

Old 09-13-2007, 01:02 AM   #4
TheJadedDog
AFK ATM

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts