Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > green tea hefeweizen

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2008, 05:58 PM   #1
rexbanner
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 94 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 91

Default green tea hefeweizen

Hey, I'm new to brewing but I want to try something interesting for my next batch since my first two batches turned out absolutely perfect.

I work at starbucks and I was drinking some of the concentrated tea we brew, some tazo zen. its a combination of green tea, lemongrass, and mint. anyways I was drinking it (its quite strong at 2x strength) and realized that it would probably lend a very good taste to wheatbeer.

so i looked it up on the internet and some small craft breweries have made some brews with tea to good review, as well as homebrewers. not necesarily wheats, but some lagers I believe.

so I have a few choices. throw the bags in the secondary, and hope they are sterile enough. or do a partial boil and add tea instead of water (seems easiest to me). or make concentrated tea and add that to the secondary. or some combination of those. any advice?

thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2008, 07:14 PM   #2
MoRoToRiUm
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I'm thinking boil off some and put it in secondary; Do you have access to dry leaves/mix or just liquid? Never had tea at starbucks, so I don't how they do it (would help in your answer as far as suggesting what to do).

Old 12-16-2008, 07:57 PM   #3
rexbanner
Recipes 

Liked 94 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 91

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoRoToRiUm View Post
I'm thinking boil off some and put it in secondary; Do you have access to dry leaves/mix or just liquid? Never had tea at starbucks, so I don't how they do it (would help in your answer as far as suggesting what to do).