Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > First recipe: Belgian Imperial Stout

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2011, 02:45 AM   #1
lwcm
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First recipe: Belgian Imperial Stout

Hey all,

Long time lurker and first time poster. I am new to the hobby and have one brew that I'll be bottling this weekend (Brewferm Abdji). One of the reasons I got into brewing was to brew up a Belgian Imperial Stout similar to Weyerbacher Brewery's Tiny. My two favorite styles are Belgians and RIS's so it's like they had a tasty 11.5% ABV baby . Anywho, I had an idea for a recipe that I wanted to run past the MUCH more experienced eyes here.

Extract recipe:

Fermentables:
12 lbs dark malt syrup
2 lbs Dark candi sugar

Specialty grains:
0.5 lbs Simpson's Roasted Barley
0.5 lbs Simpson's Black Malt
0.5 lbs Simpson's Chocolate

Hops
2 oz Summit (1.75 oz 60 min, 0.25 oz 0 min)
2 oz Cascade (0 min)

Yeast:
Wyeast 1388 Belgian Strong Ale

My (limited) understanding is that the Belgian 'taste' comes from primarily the yeast and secondarily from the candi sugar. So I basically yanked the Imperial Stout recipe from Northern Brewer and substituted a Belgian yeast and added candi sugar. Is this a gross over simplification?

I look forward to any and all comments......unless they are extolling the virtues of all grain or partial mash over extract brewing. That's in the cards but not feasible with our small apartment kitchen at the moment.

Thanks in advance!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2011, 04:54 AM   #2
ashmgee
Recipes 

thats a big beer....

Old 10-13-2011, 05:44 AM   #3
29thfloor
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 3