Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > First attempt at a recipe, assistance/feedback appreciated.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2013, 02:11 AM   #1
hoppy_kilroy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First attempt at a recipe, assistance/feedback appreciated.

This is my first attempt at a somewhat original recipe. I pulled bits and pieces from other recipes then messed with it in Brewtarget until it looked ok to me. I'm not sure about the hops though.

Kilroy's Honey Rye Ale
Batch Size 5 gal
OG 1.058
FG 1.014
ABV 5.8%
Color 15.8 srm
Calories (per 12 oz.) 193

Fermentables
Total grain: 9.850 lb

Muntons LME - Amber Extract 6.600 lb
Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L Grain 1.750 lb
Rye Malt Grain 1.000 lb
Honey Extract 8.000 oz

Hops (pellets)

To be determined. This is where I need the most help I think.

Yeast
WLP060 - American Ale Yeast Blend Ale

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2013, 02:59 AM   #2
Colorowdy
Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 129

I am making something similar with citra and cascade hops. Have you thought about using honey malt instead of extract.

Everyone dies. Few truly live.

Old 05-07-2013, 03:30 AM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4950 Times on 3586 Posts
Likes Given: 1002

I suggest using light or extra light DME or LME, and not "amber", as it's got crystal malt in it already so you're doubling (or maybe more) up on the crystal malt.

Use no more than about 15% crystal malt, total. You've got way too much, with nearly two pounds in the recipe plus whatever is in the extract. 1 pound is ok, and I'd mix it up a bit- use .75 pound of 40L and .25 pound of 80L. Or .25 pound of 120L, as an example. That gives a depth of flavor without too much cloying sweetness.

What's "honey extract"? Just honey? Or something else? I've never heard of "honey extract".

Find me on facebook: Lorena Evans