Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > extract recipes with grains?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2010, 03:16 PM   #1
jourelemode
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

Default extract recipes with grains?

im new to brewing and i've only been been using kits with malt extracts...i've been looking at other people recipes cause I wanna try new things and I see some recipes that use malt extracts, then I see they have several pounds of some grains also like caramunich, chocolate, special b, aromatic and biscuit...do they just steep these grains in the nylon bag??? sorry for the dumb question...cause I thought extract was nothing but extract stuff like powders and liquids

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2010, 03:20 PM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2711 Times on 1629 Posts
Likes Given: 3484

Yes they are steeped.

This should help you understand it better. How to Brew; Section 2 - Brewing Your First Extract and Specialty Grain Beer

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew

Old 10-20-2010, 03:24 PM   #3
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

there is extract brewing and there is all grain brewing. And then there are a couple of things in between.